Skip To Main Content

Close trigger menu ( Don't delete )

Find It Fast

Main Navigation

Schools Nav

Mobile Utility

Mobile Translate

Header Holder

Header Right

Schools Navs

Header Utility


Search Container

Mobile Menu Trigger ( don't delete )


Deering Players Shine: Regional Finalists in One Act Competition!

Congratulations to The Deering Players for achieving Regional Finalist status in the Class A schools at the One Act competition and festival held on Saturday, March 9th, 2024. Their exceptional performance has earned them a coveted spot in the Maine Drama Festival State Finals. This recent success marks a significant milestone in their journey, highlighted by a record-breaking audience turnout for ‘The Seussification of Romeo & Juliet’. The Deering Players are experiencing a remarkable renaissance!

For those who missed the chance to witness the Deering Players' captivating performance of ‘Seussification of Romeo + Juliet’ on Wednesday, March 6th, they truly missed an unforgettable experience. The historic Deering High School auditorium was brimming with proud family members, supportive friends, and theater arts enthusiasts.  This production not only entertained but also reinforced the strong sense of community at Deering, as attendees came together to support our talented theater students. Let's take a moment to commend the exceptional cast and crew who brought this production to life. Bravo to everyone involved!

Cast (in order of appearance):
Narrator 1: Claudia Muaka
Narrator 2: Zachary Lee
Prologue: Daphne Zager
Sampson: Skye Gnade
Abram: Margo Bean
Balthasar: Sara Al Kayar
Lord Capitulate: Spencer Fieldroy
Lady Capitulate: Rachel Ewing-Merrill
Lord Monotone: Toby Romano
Lady Monotone: Rose Bolduc
The Prince: Charlie Singer
Romeo: Aidan Francis
Benvolio: Sara Al Kayar
Paris: Charlie Singer
Servant of Capitulate: Nora Deluty
Nurse: Daphne Zager
Juliet: Ivayla Varbanova
Mercutio: Elizeth Francisco
Tybalt: Avery Stone
Monk Larry: Margo Bean

Production Team:
Director: Joshua Chard (Maine’s Teacher of the Year)
Technical Director: Cory Macgowan
Stage Management: Alma Wallace, April Thompson, Merritt Holman
Lighting Design: Spencer Fieldroy
Light Board Operator: April Thompson
Sound Design: Cory Macgowan
Sound Board Operator: Charlene Zheng
Costume Design: Michael Donovan
Costume Helpers: Merritt Holman, April Thompson
Wardrobe Manager: Merritt Holman
Wig Design: Lindsey Miller
Wig Construction: Lindsey Miller, Daniella Cole, Alma Wallace, Liam Williamson, Charlene Zheng
Set Construction: Kaleigh Baldwin, Spencer Fieldroy, April Thompson, Deva Thomson, Alma Wallace, Aspen Willis-Howe
Set Painting: Kaleigh Baldwin, Daniella Cole, Spencer Fieldroy, Aidan Francis, Merritt Holman, Deva Thomson, April Thompson, Alma Wallace, Liam Williamson, Charlene Zheng
Props: Merritt Holman, Deva Thomson, April Thompson, Alma Wallace, Aspen Willis-Howe
Deck Crew: Kaleigh Baldwin, Merritt Holman, Deva Thomson, Alma Wallace, Liam Williamson, Aspen Willis-Howe, Daniella Cole